1 2 Previous Next 23 Replies Latest reply on Sep 17, 2013 7:33 AM by vijaydaniel

Getting 404 when hitting OSGi WAB servlet deployed on JBoss AS7

thehashcoder

Hi EveryOne,

I am very new to OSGi.I am doing a POC for my project. I am able to develop normal OSGi bundles,deploy them on JBoss AS 7 platform, consume other bundle's services etc. But when it comes to the web part I'm stuck. I wanted to create a web app bundle for my POC. I created a normal web app with just one servlet ( with url-mapping /test in web.xml). And below is my MANIFEST file.

Manifest-Version: 1.0
      Bundle-ManifestVersion: 2
      Bundle-ClassPath: .,WEB-INF/classes/
      Bundle-SymbolicName: TestWab
      Export-Package: com.ctl.osgi.servlets
      Web-ContextPath: /TestWab
      Import-Package: org.osgi.framework,javax.servlet,javax.servlet.http

But when I hit the URL http://localhost:8080/TestWab/test its giving me a 404 error. I followed the below link when creating the app and I had followed it religiously. Most of the links for OSGi WAB follows the same process.

link : https://community.jboss.org/message/647106

I have made the following configuration change

<property name="org.osgi.framework.startlevel.beginning">3</property>

Even the fully functional sample application war in the above link produces the same result for me (a 404 error!!). So I believe there is something wrong with configuration/setup rather than code. Could some one please throw some light on this?

Thanks in Advance!!

• 1. Re: Getting 404 when hitting OSGi WAB servlet deployed on JBoss AS7
          bosschaert

Hi Ranis,

WAB support was provided in AS 7.0 through a variant of pax-web. However shipping this out of the box didn't work out well for everyone, so it was removed from the default configuration from AS 7.1. Setting the start level to 3 only worked in 7.0 as for that start level the org.jboss.osgi.webapp module was defined in the 7.0 standalone.xml.