1 2 3 4 Previous Next 45 Replies Latest reply: Mar 3, 2014 6:28 AM by Christina KTM RSS

memcached session manager and jboss

David Schmidt Newbie

From what I'v read the JBoss6 JBossWeb is based on TomCat6 but it looks a bit different.

I'd like to use the memcached session manager, is there a way to set it up?

http://code.google.com/p/memcached-session-manager/wiki/SetupAndConfiguration

I'm still learning jboss, would be nice if there is a solution without changing a lot of code

• 1. memcached session manager and jboss
    Martin Grotzke Newbie

As you want to modify tomcats context.xml to configure msm the first question is which one is relevant to you / where to find it.

Cheers,

Martin

• 2. Re: memcached session manager and jboss
    David Schmidt Newbie

I'm want to set up a small test like the example on your msm-site (2 server, 2 memcache)

what I've done so far:

-copied default

-added this to deploy\jbossweb.sar\context.xml

<Manager className="de.javakaffee.web.msm.MemcachedBackupSessionManager"
        memcachedNodes="n1:localhost:11211 n2:localhost:11212"
        failoverNodes="n1"
        requestUriIgnorePattern=".*\.(png|gif|jpg|css|js)$"
        transcoderFactoryClass="de.javakaffee.web.msm.JavaSerializationTranscoderFactory"
        />

-added to lib folder

tomcat-juli.jar (it was missing, don't know why)

memcached-session-manager-1.4.0.jar

memcached-2.5.jar

when I'm trying to start it now, I'm getting:

10:17:42,539 INFO  [TomcatDeployment] deploy, ctxPath=/invoker

10:17:42,836 ERROR [StandardContext] Context [/invoker] startup failed due to previous errors: java.lang.NoSuchFieldError: log

at de.javakaffee.web.msm.MemcachedBackupSessionManager.start(MemcachedBackupSessionManager.java:1421) [:]

at org.apache.catalina.core.StandardContext.start(StandardContext.java:3837) [:6.0.0.Final]

• 3. Re: memcached session manager and jboss
    Jean-Frederic Clere Master

They used log instead _log in the init() code... Complain to them