1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Oct 11, 2012 6:01 AM by wdfink

How to get JBoss and Apache to work together

I have JBoss 5 loaded on a Win2k8 box along with Apache 2.2.14 and Coldfusion 9. I believe I'm having issues with Apache and JBoss not working together or set up correctly. What is the best way to set them up? I've read mod_jk is the way to go then others say mod_proxy. I've tried both but with no luck.

We use JRun on our production servers and are thinking of switching to JBoss. JRun is fairly easy to set up with Apache, just load the module and you're pretty much set. Is there an easy way to get these two working together?

I'm new to JBoss, thanks for any help :)

• 1. Re: How to get JBoss and Apache to work together
          rbrtfreund

JBoss and Apache do play well together! Your on a Win box. So you probably have a setup similar to c:/jboss5 and c:/apache. Now you probably want to get jboss running (at least) forward listening on port 80. You are correct. Choose either mod_jk or mod_proxy. One way to do it.... there are many and your exact server limitations/ setup should be consulted to determine your best case scenario but for a point of getting started uncomment the mod_proxy modules... If they are not already there add them from apache...

apache/conf/httpd.conf

LoadModule proxy_connect_module modules/mod_proxy_connect.so
          LoadModule proxy_module modules/mod_proxy.so
          LoadModule proxy_http_module modules/mod_proxy_http.so

and then to config it in apache/conf/httpd.conf do the following... Obviously this setup is very open ended and may not be optimal for proxy pass and such but will get jboss and apache to play nice.

apache/conf/httpd.conf
          ProxyRequests Off
          ProxyPreserveHost On

<Proxy *>
           Order deny,allow
           Allow from all
          </Proxy>

ProxyPass / http://localhost:8080/
          ProxyPassReverse / http://localhost:8080/
          <Location />