11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 9, 2016 10:49 AM by ctomc

How to create named cache through hotrod client?

udit-mishra-5113a21a

I am pretty new to the infinispan platform. I am using the client server model of infinispan. My cache server is going to be centralized for different clients. Each client is a web application (which is an instance of a product) and we are using hotrod client as it is de facto for java applications. Now, I do not want the keys of different clients to collide, as it will be of same name.

Is there any option to create named cache from hotrod client?? Lets say client A, says create a named cache "ClientA" and put all my keys into that, and Client B asks for a named cache "ClientB", so even if they both retrieve a stored key say "specialKey" they will never get each other's data.

One way of doing it is hard coding the cache entry in <cache-container> element. But, I do not want to do that, as my clients can be added at anytime. I want it to work it from the client side, that too at runtime. Shouldn't it be flexible??

If it is not possible, then what can I do alternatively?? as my client is going to be using hotrod only. I do not think hard coding cache name in the server's configuration file is a good idea. Its nearly impossible to manage when new clients are added.

• 1. Re: How to create named cache through hotrod client?
          nadirx

We don't yet have a fully-fledged client for doing this (but we will be adding it).

The supported way to do this is by using the management interface for the server: either the web console or the CLI.

Supposing you are using domain mode, here's how you can create a new cache based on an existing named configuration:

$ ./bin/ispn-cli.sh
          You are disconnected at the moment. Type 'connect' to connect to the server or 'help' for the list of supported commands.
          [disconnected /] connect