13 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2015 7:44 AM by shawkins

Is it possible to connect to a vdb through php code

nandini123

Hi Everyone,

I am a newbie and i am working on JBoss Studio and Virtual Databases for the first time. I need to connect to the virtual database which is deployed on the Teiid Server through my php code. Is it possible to connect to a teiid database using php code. If yes, then how to connect to the vdb. Any suggestions will be really helpful.

For mysql database connection we use the following syntax,

$con = mysql_connect($server, $username, $password) or die ("Could not connect: " . mysql_error());

For teiid vdb what is the syntax to be used?

Thanks in advance

Nandini K J

• 1. Re: Is it possible to connect to a vdb through php code
          shawkins

You have several options. Teiid's ODBC transport uses the postgresql protocol.  Most native postgresql clients will work effectively connecting to us on our ODBC port, or you can use the postgresql ODBC client through php.

• 2. Re: Is it possible to connect to a vdb through php code
            nandini123

Thank you so much for your reply Steven.

Is there any tutorial or sample codes on how to use the postgresql ODBC client through php.

• 3. Re: Is it possible to connect to a vdb through php code
              shawkins

The php client - http://php.net/manual/en/book.pgsql.php

Using the postgresql odbc client - PHP: odbc_connect - Manual

• 4. Re: Is it possible to connect to a vdb through php code
                nandini123

Hi,

I am able to connect to the teiid vdb using odbc through php code.

The php code contains queries to connect to the mysql database, but i want to connect to the teiid database. Should i change all the mysql queries to odbc_execute queries or is there any way for the odbc connector to execute mysql queries.

Thanks

Nandini

• 5. Re: Is it possible to connect to a vdb through php code
                  shawkins