1 Reply Latest reply on Feb 17, 2015 7:06 AM by adinn

typeCheck Error - Help needed

skhprabu

I'm new to byteman. So far impressed with it. Right now using it test some failover scenarios. I have a rule like below for simulating a LDAP failure from spring security.

RULE error ldap entry failover

CLASS ^org.springframework.security.ldap.authentication.ad.ActiveDirectoryLdapAuthenticationProvider

METHOD searchForUser

AT ENTRY

IF true

DO traceln("Byteman detected you are entering searchForUser method");

THROW org.springframework.ldap.ServiceUnavailableException(new javax.naming.ServiceUnavailableException("byteman says ldap service unavailable in doAuthentication"))

ENDRULE

This is not compiling with the below error

Rule.ensureTypeCheckedCompiled : error type checking rule error ldap entry failover

org.jboss.byteman.rule.exception.TypeException: NewExpression.typeCheck : unknown type javax.naming.ServiceUnavailableException file /home/hkandasa/ldapfailover.btm line 15

I've setup a byteman listener in java opts and wants to inject rules at runtime. How should I make this work ? Can someone redirect me in the right direction

• 1. Re: typeCheck Error - Help needed
          adinn

Hi Hari,

I'm new to byteman. So far impressed with it.

Thanks for trying it out.

I have a rule like below for simulating a LDAP failure from spring security.

RULE error ldap entry failover

. . .

This is not compiling with the below error

Rule.ensureTypeCheckedCompiled : error type checking rule error ldap entry failover

org.jboss.byteman.rule.exception.TypeException: NewExpression.typeCheck : unknown type javax.naming.ServiceUnavailableException file /home/hkandasa/ldapfailover.btm line 15