6 Replies Latest reply on Jun 3, 2014 4:35 AM by bl91

jBPM 6 Session restore

bl91

Hi all, I'm quite new to the jBPM world. However I'm trying to develop a basic project to try some features of this engine.

I'd like to know whether there is an automatic (or an already implemented) method to restore a jBPM session after a server restart/crash.

I've already found some threads about this problem but they're about earlier versions of jBPM (5 I think - https://community.jboss.org/thread/203151) and I was wondering if there has been any improvement related to this issue in jBPM 6.

Any help would be greatly appreciated, thanks in advance.

• 1. Re: jBPM 6 Session restore
          buenavida

Hallo!

Have a look at this thread.

Greetings

Andi

• 2. Re: jBPM 6 Session restore
            bl91

Thanks Andreas, I've read that thread but it doesn't actually answer to my question.

I currently use a singleton Runtime Manager (to keep it simple for now) and so I shouldn't worry about retrieving the session Id to restore it.

I also use similar code to setup the engine and start the process, like the one you posted:

RuntimeEnvironment environment = RuntimeEnvironmentBuilder.getDefault()

.entityManagerFactory(Persistence.createEntityManagerFactory("org.jbpm.domain"))

.userGroupCallback(userGroupCallback)

.addAsset(ResourceFactory.newClassPathResource("processdef.bpmn"), ResourceType.BPMN2)

.get();

RuntimeManager manager = RuntimeManagerFactory.Factory.get().newSingletonRuntimeManager(environment);

RuntimeEngine runtime = manager.getRuntimeEngine(EmptyContext.get());

KieSession ksession = runtime.getKieSession();

However I was wondering if there's any built-in mechanism which automatically restores that (singleton) session or I must explicitly use org.drools.persistence.jpa.JPAKnowledgeService.loadStatefulKnowledgeSession(...) API.