8 Replies Latest reply on Apr 23, 2014 5:09 AM by maxandersen

Setting up datasource in JBoss

sjparikh

Hello,

I am new to JBoss. I downloaded JBoss Developer Studio

JBoss Enterprise Application Platform - Version 6.2.0.GA

I am trying to setup MySQL as datasource and it is not able to recognize my XML.

I copied mysql-connector-java-5.1.30-bin.jar in jboss-eap\standalone\lib directory. Then I placed mysql-ds.xml in jboss-eap\standalone\deployments directory. Following is the content of mysql-ds.xml:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<datasources>

<datasource>

<jndi-name>java:/DefaultDS</jndi-name>

<connection-url>jdbc:mysql://localhost:3306/test</connection-url>

<driver-class>com.mysql.jdbc.Driver</driver-class>

<user-name>root</user-name>

<password>test1102</password>

<valid-connection-checker-class-name>org.jboss.resource.adapter.jdbc.vendor.MySQLValidConnectionChecker</valid-connection-checker-class-name>

<metadata>

<type-mapping>mySQL</type-mapping>

</metadata>

</datasource>

</datasources>

When I restart JBoss server from my JBDevStudio. I see following message in the console:

09:44:25,580 INFO  [org.jboss.as.controller] (Controller Boot Thread) JBAS014774: Service status report

JBAS014777:   Services which failed to start:      service jboss.deployment.unit."mysql-ds.xml".PARSE: org.jboss.msc.service.StartException in service jboss.deployment.unit."mysql-ds.xml".PARSE: JBAS018733: Failed to process phase PARSE of deployment "mysql-ds.xml"

I will appreciate if someone can shed some light on what am I doing wrong here.

Thanks,

Swetal

• 1. Re: [jbdevstudio-users] Setting up datasource in JBoss
          burrsutter

Can you try our datasource wizard?

http://screencast.com/t/LneBx3ZA

It should generate a valid -ds.xml for you, if not, we really do want to know

On Apr 22, 2014, at 11:07 AM, Swetal Parikh <jbdevstudio-users@lists.jboss.org> wrote:

Hello,

I am new to JBoss. I downloaded JBoss Developer Studio