7 Replies Latest reply on Oct 22, 2013 10:24 AM by marcodanti

Good AS7 heap size for large RAM amounts?

marcodanti

Hi, I am looking for information about heap size settings for JBoss-AS7. I have a machine with 24 GB RAM and I am wondering what could be a reasonable heap size value to use. I saw several places on the net where they seem to suggest not to use too big a heap, but with vague explanations. I am not a Java expert. Thanks!

• 1. Re: Good AS7 heap size for large RAM amounts?
          peterj

There is no recommended heap size because the heap size that is best for you depends entirely on your application, now it behaves, and what its needs are. JBoss AS itself can work with a very small heap - I recall helping one customer try to force an OOME with a SOAP web service deployed, we had to get the max heap size down to 32MB before we got the error. But generally a 1GB to 2GB heap seems to work well for most applications. But some applications require even a larger heap. As, which GC algorithm you use will determine what heap sizes are usable. The CMS and G1 collectors thrive on very large heaps, the default collector can have issues (huge GC delays) if your heap is too large.

The only way to properly size your heap is to turn on GC logging and do a load test simulating production workloads. If you cannot do that, then turn on GC logging in the production environment. Once you have the logs (a busy days worth in production should do it) you can analyze the logs and from there determine the optimal heap size.

For suggestions on how to gather GC data and analyze it, see these white papers:

Java Garbage Collection Statistical Analysis 101

Java Garbage Collection Performance Analysis 201

Java Garbage Collection Analysis using R

at http://www.cmg.org/cgi-bin/search.cgi?q=java+peter+johnson&x=30&y=10

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: Good AS7 heap size for large RAM amounts?
            marcodanti

Thanks! I will try the papers.