11 Replies Latest reply on Feb 1, 2013 12:23 PM by jbertram

Transaction timeouts in MDB migration from JBoss 4.2.2 to 7.1.1-Final

firebet99

Hi - I'm new to JBoss 7 and have recently undergone a solo effort to upgrade a large legacy application from JBoss 4.2.2 to 7.1.1-Final. I'll admit it wasn't straightforward but for the most part it has been successful. There are a few issues that I've struggled with though, one of which I'd like to discuss here.

I spent most of yesterday trying to track down an issue with timeouts and rollback in a number of MDBs that I have migrated. I followed a few different EJB 2.x -> 3.x migration articles and have a MDB setup that uses purely Bean-managed transactions. The MDBs generally kick-off long-running async processes from a servlet-based application to allow us to continue without waiting for response from the processes (which write to log tables).  For example, the onMessag() method may start a Grid-enabled process that may take up to 30-40 mins to return a result or may start a series of large data updates using DAOs that control their own transactions, and the onMessaga() method blocks until the result returns.

In JBoss 4.2.2 these MDBs always worked fine and I did not see a timeout set explicitly anywhere in the ejb xml config.  However after migration I found that processes taking longer than 5 min (300 seconds) appeared to be rolled-back by the Arjuna TX 'reaper' process, which was causing havoc in the app as the messages were then being re-tried causing duplicate results (fortunately it's only in QA for now!)  After creating a test case with a sleep() method and trying various methods of increasing the timeout using annotations in the class - (none of which appeared to work) - I finally tracked the issue down to the transactions subsystem entry <coordinator-environment default-timeout="300"/> thanks to this post: https://community.jboss.org/thread/203599