2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 17, 2012 12:03 PM by mcipperly

mod_cluster reports 1 load using AverageSystemLoadMetric

mcipperly

Hi All,

First of all, thanks very much for the hard work and great product in mod_cluster! I've used it in several deployments at this point and think it's a testament to the quality (and excellent documentation, in manuals and here with the community) that this is my first time having to reach out after hitting an issue.

We're seeing a very strange issue with mod_cluster in one of our environments. Our current configuration is as follows:

Web Front-end: Apache httpd 2.2.22 on Solaris 10

JBoss Back-end: JBoss EAP 5.1.0 on Solaris 10, Java 1.6.0_24

Mod_cluster: We've tried versions 1.2.0-Final and 1.2.1-Final with varying degrees of success, which I'll detail in a bit

We do have multiple environments, a pre-production/staging environment which is configured exactly as production (as far as I can tell, definitely including the versions above) and our production environment. We first implemented mod_cluster in our pre-production environment with the following three metrics configured in mod_cluster-jboss-beans.xml:

<inject bean="ActiveSessionsLoadMetric"/>

<inject bean="AverageSystemLoadMetric"/>

<inject bean="HeapMemoryUsageLoadMetric"/>

We configured ActiveSessionsLoadMetric with a weight of 1, HeapMemoryUsageLoadMetric with a weight of 2, and ActiveSessionsLoadMetric with a weight of 3 (so this should be half of our total metric, with heap usage being ~33% and active sessions being ~16%). In the pre-production environment, this configuration gave us exactly what we wanted - load averages across our backend servers were consistent and no individual JVM ended up going crazy. We'd get a real number for our Load on the status page, and saw this when under load with tracing in our JBoss logs: