1 2 Previous Next 21 Replies Latest reply on Apr 15, 2014 4:58 PM by vnbiggs

GSoC: ShrinkWrap Tasks

alrubinger

This Thread is one we'll use to field questions related to the ShrinkWrap Tasks for Google Summer of Code.  Likely we'll point out to other resources like JIRA tasks, Wiki Pages, etc, as appropriate.

To see the discussion, contributor Andre Leite asked the following:

Provide ShrinkWrap with Export to: RPM, ISO, RAR, BZIP Formats.
      I'm very interested on this particular task although I have no experience with JBoss. Since it's mostly about Java and compressing protocols I feel quite confident to accomplish this task. What would you recommend me to do in order to participate? 

Fantasic, and welcome!

To start in, first fork the source and ensure you've got your environment set up to properly import into the IDE and run the tests:

ShrinkWrap | Development and Contribution

After you've got that all set, which of the formats would you like to tackle?  I'd probably recommend the BZIP (BZIP2) filter first; if you have a look at the existing sources you can see the structure where I forked off an implementation of a GZIP filter from another open source project, applied its use, and have it tested.  The JIRA issue is:

https://issues.jboss.org/browse/SHRINKWRAP-391

In addition to the filter itself are the API hooks such that files may be imported/exported using the TAR archive format.  Again, look for examples where this is previously-done with TarGzExporter and TarGzImporter.

Let me know if you need any further guidance!

S,

ALR

• 1. Re: GSoC: ShrinkWrap Tasks
          minalb

Hi Andrew,
          I am greatly interested in developing open source projects and I find "Provide ShrinkWrap with Export to: RPM, ISO, RAR,BZIP Formats" project from GSoC 2012 interesting where I can apply my Java skills.
          I would like to know more details about the project and need some clarifications.