3 Replies Latest reply: Mar 16, 2011 7:23 AM by Olalekan Ogunleye RSS

How to update a database with resteasy @PUT. Please help

Olalekan Ogunleye Newbie
Hi All,

Please, I need a help regarding this and I will appreciate it if someone can put me through. OK this is the problem (and please, note, I am new to RestEasy and I am trying with it and always ready to learn).

I am creating a resteasy application where a user's account will be deducted based on. So when the user initiate a transaction, the system will reserve some units from his/her account and then after the transaction, the total money will be deducted and then the system will then update the user's account table using the RestEasy @PUT request method. I have tried my best but all I can get is to GET inside the user's account and fetch the units out but my system is not deducting nor updating table using the @PUT request method. I have also tried to go through the example but the fact is that most of the examples that I have seen so far have always gone in one direction which only to explain and empahsize on the the @GET Request Method.

Can someone please help put me through? I will greatly appreciate this. Below is my code. Thank you.

public interface SubscriberTopUpResource {

@GET
     @PUT
     @Path("/reserveUnits")
     @Produces(MediaType.TEXT_PLAIN)
     public String reserveUnits(@PathParam("msisdn") String msisdn, @PathParam("requestedUnits") long requestedUnits);

}

public String reserveUnits(@PathParam("msisdn") String msisdn, @PathParam("requestedUnits") long requestedUnits) {

String balInquiry = "select balance from SubscriberTopUp where msisdn= :msisdn";
          System.out.println("I was able to get here");
          Query balInquiryQuery = entityManager.createQuery(balInquiry);
          System.out.println("Something happened here");
          long allocatedUnits = 0;
          System.out.println("Another thing happened here");
          @SuppressWarnings("unchecked")