4 Replies Latest reply on Apr 18, 2011 11:15 AM by sslavic

Null instead of RevisionDoesNotExistException

sslavic

Couldn't AuditQuery's getResultList and getSingleResult return null instead of throwing RevisionDoesNotExistException?

• 1. Null instead of RevisionDoesNotExistException
          adamw

Example query?

Adam

• 2. Null instead of RevisionDoesNotExistException
            sslavic

Did I mention that I'm total newbie to Envers? Well, I am. You have been warned

Here's a method I have in a generic DAO:

public T findOneAtRevisionDate(ID id, Date revisionDate) {

AuditReader auditReader = AuditReaderFactory.get(getEntityManager());

Number revision = auditReader.getRevisionNumberForDate(revisionDate);

return auditReader.find(getDomainClass(), id, revision);

}

where T is @Entity, and ID is Serializable PK of T. I'm not sure if this is correct usage of Envers API.

Throwing and handling RevisionDoesNotExistException IMO is too expensive for a normal non-exceptional situation. When finding not audited entity in db by id no exception is thrown when instance/record doesn't exist, a null is returned; when querying for collection and there are no hits, empty collection is returned, and no exception is thrown since it's a normal non-exceptional situation. Same IMO should be the case when querying history data.

• 3. Null instead of RevisionDoesNotExistException
              hernanbolido

Hello!

I don't think that these are normal situations.

The only situation should be trying to retrieve a revision with a date referring to a moment before the object was initially created...

Am I missing something?

Regards. Hernán.

• 4. Null instead of RevisionDoesNotExistException
                sslavic