8 Replies Latest reply on May 28, 2013 5:40 AM by swiderski.maciej

JEE + jBPM + threads

sergey.sazonov

Hi, I am new to jBPM and trying to integrate it with my JEE application. Basically I have a servlet handling all incoming requests and proxying them to an EJB stateless bean that contains all jBPM stuff. So if I call ksession.startProcess and my process has timer nodes then control returns immediately from this method and a new thread is created. This thread waits for delay specified for my timer node and then shuts down.

1. Could you please help me and explain how I can avoid additional thread creation.

2. And maybe you can give me any advices for best practice in integration JBPM5 and JEE for long running processes with global and timer events.

Thanks.

• 1. Re: JEE + jBPM + threads
          melc

Hi,

Whenever the process reaches a wait state, such as a timer, it will return to the point where it was called.

If you want the code to block then you can write any custom java code (aka workitem) even use a script task that does some kind of job or simply waits for some time. This is bad practice if you use a single persistent session, since the main thread will get blocked and not be responding to any requests. If you use multiple sessions e.g. session per request, i guess it will be fine if you don't mind about persistence, since blocking tasks do not get persisted, only on a wait state persistence takes place. Can you please explain why the thread creation worries you?

Regarding issue 2 if you need to persist state then you should use persistent session and a common approach, as shown by the jbpm-gwt-console implementation, is to have a singleton session. So in your case you could use a singleton ejb initializing the session and providing it to the ejbs with jbpm related logic. If you need to scale, you may later on add some kind of a pool of sessions in your singleton bean.

• 2. Re: JEE + jBPM + threads
            sergey.sazonov

Thanks, Chris.