3 Replies Latest reply on Apr 1, 2013 9:59 PM by calca

Design pattern for routing to multiple jBPM processes?

I am using jBPM 5.4 with persistence.  I am still a jBPM noob, so thanks in advance for your patience getting through this explanation...

I have a ksession that will be running multiple long-running processes.  These process flows are the same - only the variables in the processes are different. 

The basic use case it that I have events coming into a "router" that based upon message content will be passed to an existing process instance (if the related process exists).  If a process instance does not yet exist for that event, a new one is created. 

I would greatly appreciate any thoughts on design patterns to implement this (managing processes in the kession and routing events to them).

Relating to design, I have considered;

1) Create a single-node process with a "routing" WorkItemHandler node.  This instance will receive the event and perform all of the checking/routing/process instantiation logic.  Basically, iterate through each process in the kession for the correct information and if the related process doesn't exist, create it.

2) Create business rules that checks for (and creates) objects in the ksession representing each process that is running.

Pseudo code for rules would be something like:

rule "Send to existing process"

when

$newEventBean : NewEventBean()

$myProcessBean : MyProcessBean(subject matches $newEventBean.subject)

then

<signal  $myProcessBean.processId  with $newEventBean>

rule "Create if process doesn't exist"

when

$newEventBean : NewEventBean()

not($myProcessBean : MyProcessBean(subject matches $newEventBean.subject))

then

$newProcessBean: NewProcessBean();

$newProcessBean.subject = $newEventBean.subject;

$newProcessBean.instantiate(thisKsession);       <<---inserts new process instance into ksession

insert($newProcessBean);

(and when a process ends, it would need to retract the related newProcessBean)