1 2 Previous Next 27 Replies Latest reply on Aug 25, 2016 5:34 AM by jfclere

Change of jsessionid after login

singhakanksha

Hi,

I have an issue related to the change of JSESSIONID on login.

I am working on an ATG ecommerce application, where I am using jboss-eap-4.2 server and ATG9.1. We have a critical security issue which says that after login, the session id does not change. As this could lead to a "middle-man-attack", we need to change the session id after every login.

In our login page, we have a cookie for  "remember me" functionality that stores only the username id (and not password). I could see that the cookie stores the JSESSIONID, which does not change after login. As a security fix, I have made the cookie as "secure". But this still does not solve our problem.

How can we make sure that the session id is being changed or a new session is created and all data related to the previous session( session attributes and cookies) is copied over to the new one?

I am new to the Jboss community. Kindly let me know if any other information is also required.

Thanks in Advance

Regards

Akanksha

• 1. Re: Change of jsessionid after login
          quincyleung

Hi Akanksha,

I am experiencing the same problem.

It happens when a user logout and relogin using the same browser window.

I tried to google it a bit and tried the following but both do not work

1) setting -Dorg.apache.catalina.connector.Request.SESSION_ID_CHECK=true

2) removing jsessionid cookies when invalidate the session during logout

I am using jboss 4.2.3 here.

Hope someone can lend us a hand.

• 2. Re: Change of jsessionid after login
            shantanu.u

Did anyone find a solution to this ? I'm using jboss 4.2.3 as well.

When user goes to the welcome page ( not logged in yet ), a session id is created.

When user enters the credentials, and successfully logs in, the same session id is used.

I don't see this problem in Tomcat.