12 Replies Latest reply on Jun 5, 2012 6:54 AM by hchiorean

Querying contents of delimited file

eliquious

Hi,

I'm just getting started with Modeshape and find the technology fascinating. I've followed the docs and the beginner's guide on the forum but still need a bit of help. I've modified the beginner's guide to also have a text sequencer but can't figure out how to query for the information in the file. It's a comma delimited file and from what I've read the content also ends up in the repo not just the metadata. Please correct me if I'm wrong.

I'm using 2.8.1.Final.

Can someone please tell me how to query the contents of the file once it's been added to a repository?

• 1. Re: Querying contents of delimited file
          hchiorean

Hi,

Assuming the sequencing was successful, the structure of the output should be similar to what's defined here: https://docs.jboss.org/author/display/MODE28/Text+Sequencers

To query this content, one possibility is to build & execute a JCR_SQL2, like so:

Query query = session.getWorkspace().getQueryManager().createQuery("select * from [text:column] where [text:data] like 'string' ", Query.JCR_SQL2);    

QueryResult result = query.execute(); 

RowIterator iter = result.getRows();

while (iter.hasNext()) {

//your code

}

The query can be anything you need, take a look at https://docs.jboss.org/author/display/MODE28/Querying+and+Searching+using+JCR for more information

• 2. Re: Querying contents of delimited file
            eliquious

Thanks for the help. At first I thought I just didn't know how to query, which I didn't. But also, as it turns out, I'm not doing the sequencing correct either. Because when I execute a query similar to what you posted I get something like this:

Exception in thread "main" javax.jcr.RepositoryException: Table 'text:column' does not exist

Table 'text:column' does not exist

at org.modeshape.jcr.query.qom.JcrAbstractQuery.checkForProblems(JcrAbstractQuery.java:133)