1 2 Previous Next 18 Replies Latest reply on Mar 23, 2012 12:18 PM by dazed

Can Seam Persistence be used without needing JSF i.e. from a base HttpServlet class?

dazed

I'm new to Seam and liking the look of the Persistence mechanism.  For the view/presentation side I am using a library which is based around HttpServlet i.e. not JSF based.

I'm using JBoss AS 7 and Seam 3.1.0.Final

When I put these together with my Servlet library and get to the first method marked "@Begin" I get an exception because I don't have a ConversationScoped Context defined. I confess, I half expected something like this.

org.jboss.weld.context.ContextNotActiveException: WELD-001303 No active contexts for scope type javax.enterprise.context.ConversationScoped  

I tried a variation of the suggestion in <http://stackoverflow.com/questions/4828504/how-to-inject-conversationscoped-beans-in-a-servlet> but found that no ConversationContext was set (null pointer).

Again I half expected this not to work, as I clearly haven't set anything in the http headers for the "cid" part.

I've also tried following some of the setup for Seam Booking example it uses

<interceptors>

<class>org.jboss.seam.faces.context.conversation.ConversationBoundaryInterceptor</class>

</interceptors>

and hence starts to drag in faces stuff - I get this compiled but then get a Weld Deployment Exception

org.jboss.weld.exceptions.DeploymentException: WELD-001409 Ambiguous dependencies for type [ELContext] with qualifiers [@Default] at injection point [[parameter 1] of [c

onstructor] @Inject public org.jboss.solder.el.Expressions(ELContext, ExpressionFactory)]. Possible dependencies [[Producer Method [ELContext] with qualifiers [@Any @Default] decla

red as [[method] @Produces org.jboss.seam.solder.el.ELContextProducer.createELContext()], Producer Method [ELContext] with qualifiers [@Any @Default] declared as [[method] @Produce

s org.jboss.solder.el.ELContextProducer.createELContext()]]]

So my questions are: