8 Replies Latest reply on Jun 23, 2010 6:01 AM by baga

Authentication using IdentityManager

mykelbrooks

I am a SEAM newbie (as will become more obvious) and am trying to use IdentityManager for username/password authentication.  It was my understanding that you did not need to write your own authenticator method, since I was using @USERPRINCIPAL etc.  When I ran my code I got a 'Login Failed' message.  It is not obvious to me where this message came from.  I did have a command button which call identity.login() but again it is not obvious to me what code is getting called and what if any observers are catching the login failed message.  I looked at the tutorial and the seamspace app but I still do not understand what is going on.  I appreciate any light anyone can shed on this matter.  Thanks.

• 1. Re: Authentication using IdentityManager
          gonorrhea

The Identity Management API is new in Seam 2.1.  what version are you using?  In pre-2.1 Seam apps, you specified the authenticator method in the components.xml:

<security:identity authenticate-method="#{authenticator.authenticate}"/>

Most likely you're talking about Seam 2.1 b/c of the reference to @org.jboss.seam.annotations.security.management.UserPrincipal

You can use JpaIdentityStore for both authentication (verify credentials) and authorization (role restriction).  You can also use LdapIdentityStore (e.g. to access data in Active Directory) in conjunction with JpaIdentityStore (e.g. the seamspace example uses this approach).  Unfortunately, it is difficult to fully understand the example apps and the new security API.  Your best bet is to implement authent/author using JpaIdentityStore only at first to keep things simple so you only have to deal with one repository at a time (in this case it's RDBMS tables).

BTW, it's not SEAM (it's not an acronym)...

• 2. Re: Authentication using IdentityManager
            mykelbrooks