7 Replies Latest reply on May 19, 2011 12:33 AM by ggoldman

Recommendations for securing a CDI Java EE 6.0 app?  (replacement for Spring Security)

sboscarine

Hello All,

I am working on a fairly large scale Java EE 6.0 web-profile application that uses JSF, CDI, EJB (war), JPA, JAX-RS, etc.  I am relatively new to Java EE 6 and was wondering if anyone had recommendations on securing the application. 

Which technologies would you recommend I investigate?  How close is Seam 3 Security to being ready to use?  Is standard Java EE 6.0 security a good choice? (http://java.sun.com/javaee/6/docs/tutorial/doc/bncas.html)

Which forums would you recommend I ask questions in (if I run into them)?  Since this is a concern that broadly applies across the Java EE platform, it may not be ideal to post in a JSF or Weld forum. 

My application  is in the healthcare domain, so security is an essential concern.  For past applications, I have used both Seam 2.x Security and Spring Security and loved the method-level annotations.  I would want to apply annotations to methods on my weld and EJB components. 

The most challenging piece I need to model is limiting a method call to the owner of a record.  For example, my app models a doctors visit.  I need to prevent everyone but the original doctor or the patient from calling methods that modify the medical record for the visit. 

I know Java EE has @RolesAllowed, but it is limited to static roles, right?  I can declare a method to be only executable by the site-wide role, like ADMIN, but I have no way of securing a method with a contextual role so that I can accept/reject a call to a method based on a call to a separate method that would look up custom business logic to determine if the user who is logged in is of a role for this specific object, right? 

Does anyone have recommendations on securing a method with a contextual role?

Thanks in advance,

Steven