1 2 Previous Next 23 Replies Latest reply on Mar 1, 2012 12:08 PM by josh68

Problem Getting Started with Resource Loading in RF4.1

undermanager

This is a basic question about how to get started with resource loading in RF4.1.  Apologies for the wordiness - but I wanted to show my working, as well as the problem I'm having.

QUESTION: What am I doing wrong in the following set-up?  Why are my resources not getting packed/minified?

I am completely new to resource loading strategies in Java web apps - so this could be a problem between the keyboard and the chair.

1. BACKGROUND

I have recently upgraded from RF 4.0 to RF 4.1.  I am trying to take advantage of the new compressing and packing (a.k.a. minification, I assume) features now available in 4.1.

So far, I've focused on packing/minification, but have not been able to get a working configuration. 

The main components I'm using are:

- GlassFish 3.1.1

- RichFaces 4.1.0.Final

- YSlow (for feedback - what's packed/compressed; what's unpacked)

For the purposes of this exercise, I have the PROJECT_STAGE set to "Production" in the application's web.xml.

As an aside, Glassfish is configured to compress anything for the following mime types:

text/html,text/xml,text/plain,text/javascript,text/css,application/xml,application/xhtml+xml,application/javascript

The compression threshold, just for this exercise, is set to 128 bytes (usually I use the default value of 2048 bytes).  I don't think that is relevant - but I mention it in case it is.

So, for example, using YSlow, I can see that:

- jquery.js is compressed from 238.1KB to 79.3KB

http://localhost:8080/dashboard/faces/javax.faces.resource/jquery.js

2. THE PROBLEM

I see 29 components that are not getting packed/minified, for example:

http://localhost:8080/dashboard/faces/javax.faces.resource/richfaces.js

http://localhost:8080/dashboard/faces/javax.faces.resource/toolbar.js?ln=org.richfaces

3. FIRST ATTEMPT