1 2 3 4 Previous Next 54 Replies Latest reply on Dec 13, 2012 5:30 AM by gonzalad Go to original post
      • 15. Re: Roadmap and Planning for RichFaces 4.2 and beyond
        bleathem

@Cagatay Civici: thanks for the congrats, and I am indeed very interested in pursuing interoperability with other JSF frameworks.  Let's pursue the discussion in the thread Lukas started - I'd hate to see this thread hi-jacked with another topic

@Lukas: Your proposals are excellent!  Pulling out some high-level goals we can target with RichFaces 4.2, I see:

• CDK improvements

I particularly like the idea of reducing the turnaround time for CDK component development.  Some improvementws to the maven plugin, together with a tool like jRebel or FakeReplace will give us some excellent improvements.

• HTML 5

Looking more into providing HTML 5 specific components would be great too.  I started playing around with a HTML 5 input component, and the best facelet syntax to use isn't immediately apparent.  We would benefit from engaging the broader JSF community here.

• Arquillian Ajocado/JSFUnit/Drone/RushEye/QUnit

+1 We've got a lot of tests in place in the current framework and components, but improvements to the infrastructure to facilitate test creation would help reduce the turnaround time for new components.  Also, gaining more "mileage" out of the tests we write, by reusing the same test in different scenarios (htmlunit, in-browser, etc) will give us more "bang for the buck"!

• Framework/spec improvements

These ideas are again great, we'll have some experimentation work to do to see what works and what doesn't.  Defeinitely some room to have some research fun here!

Let's keep the brainstorming going, and give some thought to the impl details of the ideas we've already put forward.

• 16. Re: Roadmap and Planning for RichFaces 4.2 and beyond
          kwutzke

Just my 2 cents:

+2 for JSF 2.2 support