1 Reply Latest reply on Nov 3, 2011 4:54 AM by adinn

about exception and final class~

citj0000

hi,

I'm studying how to use Byteman recently but have some problems,

1      how to use EXCEPTION if it's  define by user class,  but not the class specified by Lable CLASS?

2      could final class be specified by Label CLASS?  Since when i try to use it, the rule has no effect. But no error when checking by bmcheck.

thanks~

• 1. Re: about exception and final class~
          adinn

Hi Antonia,

Thank you for trying Byteman.

Antonia Conti wrote:

hi,

I'm studying how to use Byteman recently but have some problems,

1      how to use EXCEPTION if it's  define by user class,  but not the class specified by Lable CLASS?

That may not be possible with Byteman as it is currently implemented. I have been considering this issue and I think I may be able to implement a mechanism to allow rules to import classes they wish to reference. However, at present the rule compiler typechecks and links rule code using the classloader context of the target class/interface specified by the CLASS or INTERFACE keyword.

So, for example, assume you have a rule like this

RULE example

CLASS SomeClass

METHOD someMethod

IF TRUE

DO THROW new MyException

ENDRULE

Let L1 be the classloader of the target class, SomeClass and L2 the loader of the referenced class, MyException. The typechecker uses L1 to resolve all type references from the rule code. So, with a conventional JVM class organization this rule will only typecheck if L2 == L1 or L2 is a direct or indirect parent of L1 (i.e. L1 <= L2 in the ordering implied by the parent relationship).

Ok, since this is a public forum here is some extra nitty-gritty detail for anyone interested in the full story. You can skip this if the answer above was all you wanted to know.