2 Replies Latest reply on Apr 27, 2010 12:19 PM by faustodelatog

Transaction is not active exception

green804

Hi,

Sorry about the double post. I didn't know if I should post here or in the EJB3 section.

I'm new to using EJB3 and RMI. I am using annotations. We recently launched our application in production, and the user login and registration is hanging. We did not see these issues in dev or testing. We have a tomcat app that talks to the JBoss app using RMI. We are using Jboss clustered in production.

I'm hoping someone can help answer the following:
      1. What might be causing an error like this? What does the error mean?
      2. Could the JBoss clustering be the source of this problem? I saw something about adding @cluster to the bean. Do I need this?
      3. Is there a configuration in JBoss that we need to set to fix this problem?

I've included the stack trace below.

[ERROR] [2008-06-13 00:18:59,567] Servlet.service() for servlet ULRServlet threw exception
      java.lang.IllegalStateException: [com.arjuna.ats.internal.jta.transaction.arjunacore.inactive] [com.arjuna.ats.internal.jta.transaction.arjunacore.inactive] The transaction is not active!
      at com.arjuna.ats.internal.jta.transaction.arjunacore.TransactionImple.commitAndDisassociate(TransactionImple.java:1372)
      at com.arjuna.ats.internal.jta.transaction.arjunacore.BaseTransaction.commit(BaseTransaction.java:135)
      at com.arjuna.ats.jbossatx.BaseTransactionManagerDelegate.commit(BaseTransactionManagerDelegate.java:87)
      at org.jboss.aspects.tx.TxPolicy.endTransaction(TxPolicy.java:175)
      at org.jboss.aspects.tx.TxPolicy.invokeInOurTx(TxPolicy.java:87)
      at org.jboss.aspects.tx.TxInterceptor$Required.invoke(TxInterceptor.java:191)
      at org.jboss.aop.joinpoint.MethodInvocation.invokeNext(MethodInvocation.java:101)
      at org.jboss.aspects.tx.TxPropagationInterceptor.invoke(TxPropagationInterceptor.java:76)