7 Replies Latest reply on Apr 13, 2010 3:47 AM by anon137564

Problems deploying exploded .war, deploying zipped .war works fine (JBoss 4.2.3.GA)

Hi,

I'm pretty new to JBoss and I'm encountering a problem when deploying an exploded .war file. When I'm deploying it as a zipped .war, everything works fine. I'm using a JBoss application server in the version of 4.2.3.GA.

By deploying I mean that I simply copy the whole zipped file respectively the whole exploded directory into the JBoss deploy directory. I'm doing this when JBoss has already started up and is running. Two other Java applications are already resting in the deploy directory and deployed at the startup with no problems.

When deploying it as a exploded war, I'm always getting the error java.lang.ClassNotFoundException (the whole error log is appended as a text file to the post). The JBoss progress to deploy the files starts soon after I'm beginning to copy the exploded .war directory. At this moment, only a few files are copied. Could it be that because of this, JBoss can't find the class — it's simply not there yet? The directory is pretty large and takes approximately 40 seconds to copy.

Do you know a way to start the deploy progress not before the directory has finished copying? Or is there another solution for my problem? Our projects are using maven, maybe there's a way this could help to ...

Thank you for your help

Guy

• 1. Re: Problems deploying exploded .war, deploying zipped .war works fine (JBoss 4.2.3.GA)
          wolfgangknauf

Hi,

first thing: I would delete the old directory and wait some seconds so that JBoss can undeploy the old stuff. Copying things over an existing deployment might cause problems.

I read somewhere that a "move" operation is much faster than a "copy". So, place your exploded deployment somewhere else on the same disc as jboss, then MOVE it to the deploy directory.

Hope this helps

Wolfgang