1 2 Previous Next 17 Replies Latest reply on Jan 28, 2008 7:58 AM by lazar.mihai

Beginner: Bind SelectOneMenu to @onetoone entity object

tranquillizer

Hi, I'm a newbie in jsf / seam and I think I have understand the basics, but now I have a question how to set a related object?
      The case:

I have an entity Object, Category. The category has a OneToOne relation with another Category object, the parentCategory.

My entity has the @name("category") annotation.
      The fields are mapped against this object, like:
      <h:inputText value="#{category.categoryName}" />
      <h:inputTextarea value="#{category.categoryDescription}">

I then want to choose the parent category from a select list, I have:
      <h:selectOneMenu value="#{category.parentCategory}" converter="categoryConverter">
      <f:selectItems value="#{categoryController.allCategoriesParentList}">
      </f:selectItems>
      </h:selectOneMenu>

I have a List returned from my controller object:
      public List getAllCategoriesParentList() {
      List list = new ArrayList();
      int x = 0;
      for(Category c : allCategories) {
      System.out.println("Rendering " + c.getCategoryName());
      list.add(new SelectItem(c.getId(), c.getCategoryName()));
      }
      return list;
      }
      So I set the list with the categorys names, but there is some things missing, which I cannot figure out how to implement. I guess I can inject the parentCategory object in some way so I dont have to load it from the persistence layer once again!?

Any help appriciated.
      Thanks in advance

• 1. Re: Beginner: Bind SelectOneMenu to @onetoone entity object
          nickarls

Well, if you have a SMPC (as is usually best), you could use a

public List<Category> getAllCategoriesParentList() {
           return entityManager.createQuery("from Category").getResultList();
          }

(note, code from memory, not guaranteed to compile, but something like that)

and then just use a