1 Reply Latest reply on Nov 15, 2011 8:39 AM by salaboy21

New to JBPM5, trying to integrate with web application

rufjan

Hi all, I'm new to JBPM5 and I would like to create a sample web application which will allow to invoke tasks in my simple process.

For the presentation layer I would like to use simple forms in Struts. The question is how to integrate them with jbpm?

As I understand jbpm, first thing I should do is to create my process using BPMN eclipse plugin - I think I can make it. Then as an output I will have my xml file representing process. The next step is to create KnowledgeBase in web application.

• Should I create KnowledgeBase as a singleton that will be available from every Action/Servlet? I think that creating KnowledgeBase is time consuming so there should be only one instance. What Action/Servlet does, is only creating StatefulKnowledgeSession per action request and then manipulation process using session. Am I right?

But there is one more question.

• I see that jbpm comes with admin console which helps in process maintenance. How should I make it available when integrating with struts web app? This feature is nice to have .

Is my approach right? Or I should create standalone jbpm sever somehow?

Thank you for any information!

• 1. Re: New to JBPM5, trying to integrate with web application
          salaboy21

Hi Michal,

Cool, if you want to create a simple web application that shows the users the different tasks that appears in your processes you can use the jbpm-human-task module that provides an API to get the information about the pending tasks. Using this API you will be interacting with the human task component.