2 Replies Latest reply on Jul 19, 2011 12:31 AM by hrushikesh.chidley

How to cancel Timer Event

hrushikesh.chidley

Hi,

I am a newbie to jBPM and recently started working with jBPM v5.1.

I want to use the timer event in the process flow. My requirement is something like this -

- I want to initiate a process and then start the timeout for that process using timer task

- If the process finishes first and gives me result before the timer expires then I want to cancel the timer event.

- If in case the process does not complete and timer expired first, then I want to stop the process and raise a exception.

I am able to sort out almost every part of this requirement using jBPM 5.1 but the 'cancelling of timer part'.

Could anyone please let me know how can I cancel a timer event in the jBPM process?

Thank you for help.

• 1. Re: How to cancel Timer Event
          melc

Hello,

One simple approach could be to use a parameter as a flag (i.e. boolean timeout ) within your process and then simply raise it or not when completing the logic of your process (i.e. right before exiting) or after the timer node. Then at a gateway check the flag's value and decide whether you should raise an exception or not.

In addition a quote from the documentation http://docs.jboss.org/jbpm/v5.1/userguide/ch05.html#sec.timers "The timer is cancelled if the timer node is cancelled (e.g., by completing or aborting the enclosing process instance)." . Actually you don't need to cancel a timer event if it is part of your process logic, instead use your logic inside your process to act accordingly (i.e. as instructed above).

1 of 1 people found this helpful
          • 2. Re: How to cancel Timer Event
            hrushikesh.chidley

Hello Chris,

Thank you for the reply. Indeed the approach of boolean parameter is correct. I had thought about that earlier but there is one issue that makes me not use it.