9 Replies Latest reply on Apr 6, 2011 9:12 AM by viggo.navarsete

Using ejb-jar.xml for @Singleton bean

benoit.heinrich

Hi everyone,

I'm new to EJB3.1 and I'm not sure if I'm posting the question to the right forum, so be nice with me to redirect me to the right section if you think it's not ok here.

I'm converting an old jboss @Service (that was running on jboss 4.2.3) to the new @Singleton pattern that I'm deploying to jboss 6.0.0.Final.

My singleton has a lot of dependencies to a lot of beans and to prevent to workaround the issue with dependency resolution for transitive relationships (https://issues.jboss.org/browse/EJBTHREE-2227) I've moved my Singleton to a separate ear file and then I've set my ears to deploy the one after the other.

Both ears are using the same jboss-app.xml to share the same classloader and I've got two deployment scenario where one work and the other fails.

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<!DOCTYPE jboss-app PUBLIC

"-//JBoss//DTD Java EE Application 5.0//EN"

"http://www.jboss.org/j2ee/dtd/jboss-app_5_0.dtd">

<jboss-app>

<loader-repository>

com.example:loader=01-services

<loader-repository-config>java2ParentDelegation=false</loader-repository-config>

</loader-repository>

</jboss-app>

To reproduce the problem I've created a small example:

Scenario 1, no ejb-jar.xml

Here I'm not using ejb-jar.xml and I'm setting the lookup name inside the @EJB annotation

package com.example.services.startup;

import com.example.services.version.VersionManager;

import org.apache.commons.logging.Log;

import org.apache.commons.logging.LogFactory;

import javax.annotation.PostConstruct;

import javax.ejb.EJB;

import javax.ejb.Singleton;

import javax.ejb.Startup;

@Singleton

@Startup

public class StartupBean {

private static final Log log = LogFactory.getLog(StartupBean.class);

@EJB(lookup = "01-services/VersionManagerBean/local")

private VersionManager versionManager;

@PostConstruct

public void startup() {