5 Replies Latest reply on Jan 17, 2011 11:56 AM by meenarajani

newbie question: ejb3 tutorial examples

ntk

Hello community,

I'm new to JBoss and the javaEE environment, and after playing around with the tutorials I have come across a problem with the java naming service (simple problem probably but still one I have found hard to overcome)

What I did:

1. I took the "Stateless" tutorial source code and created a .jar from it (without the Client.java).

2. I deployed the new .jar in my JBoss AS distribution, which is the latest JBoss 5 release. Restarted JBoss.

3. I checked if it is deployed correctly on the JBoss admin console.

4. I modified the Client.java the following way ( the underlined code is what I added ).

package org.jboss.tutorial.stateless.client;
      import java.util.Hashtable;
      import org.jboss.tutorial.stateless.bean.Calculator;
      import org.jboss.tutorial.stateless.bean.CalculatorRemote;
      import javax.naming.Context;
      import javax.naming.InitialContext;
      public class Client
      {
         public static void main(String[] args) throws Exception
         {
            Hashtable properties = new Hashtable();
            properties.put(Context.INITIAL_CONTEXT_FACTORY,"org.jnp.interfaces.NamingContextFactory");
            properties.put(Context.PROVIDER_URL, "jnp://localhost:1099");
            properties.put("java.naming.factory.url.pkgs", "org.jboss.naming:org.jnp.interfaces");
            InitialContext ctx = new InitialContext(properties);
            Calculator calculator = (Calculator) ctx.lookup("CalculatorBean/remote");
            System.out.println("1 + 1 = " + calculator.add(1, 1));
            System.out.println("1 - 1 = " + calculator.subtract(1, 1));
         }
      }

.... and I received the following exception: