3 Replies Latest reply on Jan 6, 2011 12:51 PM by peterj

Hot deploying to a local jBoss

kevinsheedy
      Hi
      I'm new to jBoss. I want to know the best approach for deploying code to a local jBoss while doing day to day development. ie change 1 jsp file, test it in my browser. Change a line of java, deploy, test. Repeat ad lib.
      At the moment, the team's approach is to change one line, compile the whole project, build a full war and copy it into the deploy folder to be picked up by the hot deploy scanner. This is really slow.
      What approach have people taken to deploying java code? Multiple smaller wars? Jars? Deploying the changed .class files?
      Anyone know how to make jBoss read jsp files straight out of a source controlled folder?
      (I got it to read js & css straight out of source control by changing the server.xml, Host -> Context -> docBase="C:/dev/web")
      Thanks

Hi

I'm new to jBoss. I want to know the best approach for deploying code to a local jBoss while doing day to day development. ie change 1 jsp file, test it in my browser. Change a line of java, deploy, test. Repeat ad lib.

At the moment, the team's approach is to change one line, compile the whole project, build a huge war and copy it into the deploy folder to be picked up by the hot deploy scanner. This is really slow.

What approach have people taken to deploying java code? Multiple smaller wars? Jars? Deploying the changed .class files?

Also, I want to make jBoss read jsp files straight out of a source controlled folder? (so that I can just change a jsp file and refresh my browser without having to explicitly deploy the jsp. I got jBoss to read js & css straight out of source control by changing server.xml -> Host -> Context -> docBase="C:/dev/web")

Thanks

• 1. Re: Hot deploying to a local jBoss
          peterj