11 Replies Latest reply on Oct 11, 2013 7:13 AM by radhikarathi

The DataSource is UNKNOWN run state

frankv

Hello,

I'm new to JBoss ...
      I have installed jboss-5.1.0.GA and run it in default environment
      Before running it, I've put under JBOSS_HOME/server/default/libmysql-connector-java-5.1.10-bin.jar and I've taken from docs/examples/jca the mysql-ds.xml file that i've modified with the right database properties (connection url, user and password - same properties i've used with SQuirrel) and put to default/deploy.
      The admin console shows me an UNKNOWN run state for this datasource.
      Any ideas on where should I look at ?
      Thanks for your help
      Frank

• 1. Re: The DataSource is UNKNOWN run state
          emuckenhuber

Do you see any deployment exceptions in the console output or server.log ?

• 2. Re: The DataSource is UNKNOWN run state
            frankv

Hello,

the only message related to my Datasource in server.log is the following:

2010-04-27 14:37:59,747 INFO  [org.jboss.resource.connectionmanager.ConnectionFactoryBindingService] (main) Bound ConnectionManager 'jboss.jca:service=DataSourceBinding,name=MySqlDS' to JNDI name 'java:MySqlDS'

it's an INFO message

Here is the mysql-ds.xml contents:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>

<!-- See http://www.jboss.org/community/wiki/Multiple1PC for information about local-tx-datasource -->
            <!-- $Id: mysql-ds.xml 88948 2009-05-15 14:09:08Z jesper.pedersen $ -->
            <!--  Datasource config for MySQL using 3.0.9 available from:
            http://www.mysql.com/downloads/api-jdbc-stable.html
            -->

<datasources>
              <local-tx-datasource>
                <jndi-name>MySqlDS</jndi-name>
                <connection-url>jdbc:mysql://localhost:3306/myDatabase</connection-url>
                <driver-class>com.mysql.jdbc.Driver</driver-class>
                <user-name>root</user-name>
                <password>frankv</password>