8 Replies Latest reply on Sep 29, 2010 12:48 PM by peterj

Looking for Examples

violentstormm

Hi,

Im really new to the jboss AS and want to test the performance on different hardware.

Therefor Im looking for some good applications or examples, which takes the AS to the limit.

I've found some good examples bundled with the SEAM framework but they are not complex enogh.

So please tell me some good examples or applications :-)

• 1. Re: Looking for Examples
          wdfink

Hi Marco,

an example to put the JBoss under heavy load is very simple and very complex ;-)

So IMHO 'the general example' you want does not exists.

It depends to the application and the requirements do you have.

We have simple SLSB (stateless session beans) and the server run performant and stable with about 500req/sec and some complex where the garbage collector will reach the limit below 50req/sec.

So you can't give an answer to this question without knowing the requirement.

If you will implement have a performant application you should pay attention to the scalability, JEE support this but not without any costs.

• 2. Re: Looking for Examples
            peterj

Hmm, I found that the SeamBay application was fairly decent for putting the system under stress. Of course, I modified it to use mySQL, fixed a bug in the schema, changed the auction time to a much higher value, and loaded the database with 5000 users and 15,000 auction items. I used a JMeter script to drive it.

• 3. Re: Looking for Examples
              violentstormm

@Peter:

sound's interesting, I will try to do something similar.

Could you tell me some more details?

@ Wolf-Dieter:

The Problem is, that I'm the admin not the developer :-)

so I could not say what kind of application will run on the AS in the end..

• 4. Re: Looking for Examples
                peterj