9 Replies Latest reply on Aug 3, 2010 7:08 AM by pkk4jbpm

How to handle failed processes/states due to server crashes?

pkk4jbpm

Hi,

I have a Spring 3.0 + jBPM 4.3 setup, basically a webapplication with embedded jBPM.

Basic flow of my application:

On receiving a message on queue, my application creates a process instance based on the process name within message.

Once started my processes interact with other services(SLSB invoked by MDrivenBeans) through jms.

I would like to know how I can handle scenarios like:

1. Failed process states due to any server crash. How can I restart the processes from the point where they failed?

2. How will transaction be rolled back once my application is up again?

3. How shall I do Exception Handling? May be Custom node? I know this has been asked in other threads too, but I asking it here also because: a) since I am new to jBPM I am not able to understand it, may be a sample example would do. b) I feel exception handling needs to be taken care in such a application where we are interacting with jms & other external services.

Please guide me by helping me understand jBPM in such scenarios. I want to build a scalable solution for my project.

Thanks in advance,

Puneet

• 1. Re: How to handle failed processes/states due to server crashes?
          mwohlf

Hi,

1. Failed process states due to any server crash. How can I restart the processes from the point where they failed?

The processes are executed within a database transaction until they reach some kind of wait state where they need input (signals) in order to continuethis state is persisted to database, I don't see any reason for restarting a process here.

2. How will transaction be rolled back once my application is up again?

That's the job of the database as far as i understand.