4 Replies Latest reply on Jul 28, 2010 8:45 AM by viveknandavanam

Dynamic AOP application, not able to redeploy the aspects at runtime

viveknandavanam

Hello,

I am very new to JBoss and AOP. I have been trying to implement dynamic aop and i am using jboss-4.2.3-GA and JDK 1.6.0_01.

Jboss aop in use is the one that comes with 4.2.3 by default.

An interceptor that i created is getting invoke from an sample application.

From this interceptor i am calling a session bean which has a method to return a string.

I have deployed the session bean along with the home and remote interface in one jar, and the interceptor in a plain jar.

The extract from the *-aop.xml is as below:

<aop>

<prepare expr="all(com.other.anotherbean.*)"/>

<typedef name="Transform" expr="class(com.other.test.Bean)"/>

<bind pointcut="execution(* $typedef{Transform}->someMethod(..))">
              <interceptor class="com.test.interceptor.InterceptorClass"/>
          </bind>

</aop>

I am making a change in the session bean(in anotherbean package) and redeploying it so that it returns a different string without restarting jboss.

But i see that the changes are not reflected.

The 'EnableLoadtimeWeaving' attribute is set to true in jboss-service.xml and i have added -javaagent:pluggable-instrumentor.jar in run.bat file.

The example ear and wars created using jboss aop1.5 seem to work fine.

I see that the class that are prepared are being deployed in the server/<server-config>/tmp/aopdynclasses folder.

And each time i make changes in the bean and redeploy it new folders are being created at runtime under folder named ucl*, and during each edit and redeployment a new folder is created with the aspectized classes(e.g: classname$methodname_N5164114663869737738.class) being put into the ucl* folders. These class id's are same for the different classes that are created in different ucl* folders.

Why are the changes not reflecting in runtime?

Please point me in the right direction.

-Regards,